By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie policy

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
You are in :


First-class parliamentary services that engage with the people of Wales – new Assembly Commission launches strategy for Fifth Assembly


​The new cross-party National Assembly for Wales Commission has agreed a strategy for the Fifth Assembly.

It’s centred on three core strategic goals:

  • To provide outstanding parliamentary support
  • To engage with all the people of Wales and champion the Assembly
  • To use resource wisely

“Together, the goals set the fr​amework for an ambitious set of priorities, building on the investment and momentum that was achieved in the Fourth Assembly”, said the Llywydd, Elin Jones AM.

“They reflect the changing constitutional situation including the outcome of the EU referendum and the resulting need for even stronger engagement.

“Within the goals there is a focus on building capability to ensure the long term success of the organisation.

“For each strategic goal, the Commission’s aim is to set and maintain high standards as a Welsh public service leader and enhance our international reputation as an effective, open, world class parliamentary institution.”

Commissioners have agreed key areas on which the Commission should focus its priorities. In particular, these include responding to:

  • the implications of the EU referendum outcome and constitutional change, including professional development for Members in response to such changes;
  • the way rapidly changing digital experiences are shaping expectations of engagement and the Assembly’s services, improving services such as Senedd TV, supporting the Assembly’s engagement with the media and developing our own TV content on the work of the Assembly, creating a publicly accessible archive of the Assembly’s records and strengthening youth engagement;

The National Assembly Commission is a cross-party group chaired by the Llywydd and made up of representatives from each party group in the Assembly.

The current members of the commission are:

  • Elin Jones AM - Llywydd (Chair).
  • Suzy Davies AM - with responsibility for budget and governance, including Audit and Risk Assurance Committee membership.
  • Joyce Watson AM – with responsibility for equalities, and the Commission as the employer of Assembly staff.
  • Dai Lloyd AM – with responsibility for official languages, and delivery and transformation of services to Members.
  • Caroline Jones AM – with responsibility for security and Assembly resources.

Assembly Commission strategy 2016 to 2021

Partners & Help