By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie policy

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
You are in :

What is the role of the Assembly?


The Assembly has four key roles: representing Wales and its people; making laws for Wales; agreeing Welsh taxes and holding the Welsh Government to account.

Representing Wales and its people

The Assembly is made up of 60 elected Assembly Members. Forty are chosen to represent individual constituencies, and 20 are chosen to represent the five regions of Wales (North Wales, Mid and West Wales, South Wales West, South Wales Central, and South Wales East). Assembly Members represent their area as a member of a political party or as an independent.

Making laws for Wales

Following a referendum on the National Assembly for Wales’s legislative powers held on 03 March 2011, the people of Wales voted in favour of granting the National Assembly for Wales further powers for making laws for Wales.

Holding the Welsh Government to account

Effective scrutiny of a government’s work is at the heart of any democratic process, and this work is undertaken by the National Assembly through a number of Committees made up of Assembly Members from all political parties.


Partners & Help