By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie policy

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
You are in :

Ann Jones AM

Ann Jones AM

Title: Deputy Presiding Officer

Party: Welsh Labour

Constituency: Vale of Clwyd

Contact information

Office Address: 
The Hub
69-75 Wellington Road
LL18 1BE

Phone:  01745 332813

Fax:  01745 369038

Assembly Address: 
National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
CF99 1NA

Phone:  0300 200 7173


Website (non-Assembly) :

Twitter :

National Assembly for Wales is not responsible for the content of any external link


Terms of Office

  • 07/05/1999 - 30/04/2003
  • 02/05/2003 - 02/05/2007
  • 04/05/2007 - 31/03/2011
  • 06/05/2011 - 05/04/2016
  • 06/05/2016 -

Membership of Cross Party Groups

Additional Information

Key interests and achievements

Long before entering politics Ann spent much of her time following Rhyl Town Football Club and she remains a Lillywhites season ticket holder.


Personal history

Ann Jones was born and brought up in Rhyl on the North Wales coast, where she has lived all her life.


Professional background

She worked for nearly 30 years in fire control rooms in north Wales and Merseyside until her election to the National Assembly for Wales in 1999. Before being elected to the Assembly, Ann served as a Rhyl Town Councillor and was the town’s Mayor in 1996/7. She was also a Denbighshire County Councillor.


Political history

An active trade unionist, Ann served as a national official in the Fire Brigades Union for a number of years and sat on both the Welsh Labour Party and Wales TUC Executives. She is a member of UNISON and Chairs the UNISON Group of Assembly Members. She also remains an ‘out of trade’ member of the FBU.


While championing her local community, Ann Jones has worked tirelessly with the Welsh Labour Government to attract major investment to the area with real success.


Ann Jones is Deputy Presiding Officer of the National Assembly for Wales.


Presiding Officer

Presiding Officer

​The Presiding Officer is an Assembly Member who chairs Plenary meetings. Read more
Assembly Members

Assembly Members

The National Assembly for Wales is made up of 60 Assembly Members. Read more


View a list of the issues that Assembly committees are currently consulting on. Read more


The Research Service provides research support to the Assembly's committees and to all Members. Read more
The Assembly in your area

The Assembly in your area

We encourage participation from individuals and organisations. Read more

Partners & Help