By continuing to use our site, you are agreeing for us to set a small number of cookies. Cookie policy

Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Panel of Chairs

As set out in Standing Order 9.2, Chairs of Subject Committees are selected from a panel of Members elected by the Assembly so as to secure that, as far as is practicable, the balance of the parties in the Assembly is reflected in the membership of the panel. The panel has as many members as there are Subject Committees. Ministers are not eligible to be members of the panel. At the end of the Second Assembly, the Panel of Chairs consisted of the seven Subject Committee Chairs, and met to consider issues relating to the operation of Subject Committees. Chairs of the Standing Committees on Audit, Equality of Opportunity and European and External Affairs were invited to attend panel meetings as observers. The Panel met once a month in private, and meetings were chaired by the Presiding Officer. In November 2004, the Panel agreed that minutes of its meetings would be published.

Partners & Help